How to paint a Golden Retriever

This guide tells you how I painted Annie the Golden Retriever for my Godmother. She is a friendly energetic dog and very much loved. I finally got to see her today to hand over my masterpiece.

You will need:

  • Paint – Dog: Flesh tint, Burnt Umber, Raw Umber, White, Mars Black, Burgandy, Violet, Rich Gold
    Grass: Sap Green, Olive Green Burgandy, Violet, Lemon Yellow, Raw Umber etc.
  • A Canvas –  I use 30cmx40cm as standard
  • Playmat – I use a big old plastic table cloth
  • Paintbrushes – a large flat one and a variety of small round ones.
  • A pot of water
  • A palette – I use foil cases from quiches.
  • A photograph to copy – I have mine up on my laptop screen with gridlines drawn on
  • A pencil
  • A ruler.

Canvas Preparation

1. Mark up your canvas. For a 30 x 40 canvas it is easiest to do 5cm2 squares. If you grid out your photo on a screen, make sure that your scaled dimensions are the same. You will probably have to crop parts of your photo and expand it to fill the space. With this painting, I made the call that the edge of the paws could be missed out to make the rest of the dog fit onto the canvas.

IMAG0867_1[1]

2. Draw the outline shape of your subject onto the canvas, following the corresponding squares on your screen. For a more detailed way of doing this, see here.

Painting Grass

If your background is grass, you can follow this guide for long grass, and this guide for short grass.

IMAG0881[1]

Painting a Golden Retriever  

1. Paint areas of shadow on the face with a grey / Flesh Tint, Burgandy mix. The areas around the nose seem to be darker, whereas under the eyes is blonder.

IMAG0882[1]

2. Use paler colours on areas of light (Flesh Tint, White, Raw Umber) and small sweeping brushstrokes with a little rounded brush to create fine hairs all over the face, concentrating on areas of light and shadow. Outline the nose in a near black, and use black to draw the gums. Use small dots of white to create hair follicles around the nose.

IMAG0883[1]

3. Continue adding layers of hair and volume on the face, and rim the eye in black with a gentler grey surround.

IMAG0884[2]

4. Start to paint the ear. Firstly paint a short colour wash in a mix of Raw Umber, Burgandy, Burnt Umber, with the ear becoming darker and more shadowy towards the bottom. Then when that is dry, create little curlier hairs in white, Flesh Tint and Raw Umber.

IMAG0886[1]

5. Start to paint down towards the dog’s chest using your big flat paintbrush. Using Violet mixed with white creates really natural looking areas of shadow for a predominantly white chest.

IMAG0887[1]

6. Lengthen areas of shadow (greys, Violet, Burgandy, Flesh Tint etc) up the dog’s back and towards her paws.

IMAG0889[1]

7. Pay attention to the direction of the hairs and blanched out areas. Little curly patterns of hairs formed on the back of this photograph, so I used longer brushstrokes in a roundabout motion to capture this.

IMAG0891[1]

8. Keep adding layer after layer to make the painting look really 3D and fluffy. Work over the shadow with lighter tones, using little sweeping brushstrokes.

IMAG0893[1]

9. Continue the shadow down the legs using a grey based paint. Create lots of individual hairs with a watery white / Flesh Tint, going lighter and lighter towards the paws.

IMAG0895[1]

10. Lengthen strands of grass to come over the dog’s body to join background and foreground together.

IMAG0899[1]

11. The dog’s eye was a REAL challenge for me. I know it looks fairly done in the photos above but it just wasn’t quite right. I ended up painting over it entirely to try again. It put about five hours onto the end of my painting. I had to study other photographs of Annie to appreciate her nutty brown eye colour – which didn’t come across in the photo I was copying. Anyway, I am finally pleased with it.

eyes

FINITO. I estimate this took me about 30-35 hours although I never keep proper tabs on these things.

Annie 2 ARTbyIMI

Please let me know what you think!

12 thoughts on “How to paint a Golden Retriever

  1. Pingback: How to paint long grass in acrylic | ART by IMI

  2. Oh my gosh! 35 hours! That is amazing and I bet your grandmother loved it! I love very few things more than I love my golden retriever (if anything at all, really). They are the best dogs and you did a great job painting Annie! The whispy hair on the ears and curly hair on the back is perfect! Thanks for sharing 🙂

  3. I think your picture is brilliant!! I’m also TRYING to paint a similar one. I’m not a great painter,and I thank you for your instructions on painting fur and grass. Hopefully I may be able to present a reasonable picture, but if I could be anything like you I would be over the moon!! Thanks again, Maggie

    • Hi Maggie, always love to hear my little guides being useful! You’ll have to send me a link to your finished piece! My biggest tip is that if you think you are finished, add even more layers of fur using little flicky strokes. It’s the only way to create volume! Good luck and thanks for commenting!

  4. Nice step by step. Thank you for not just doing a speed painting. I am trying to passing a golden that is more reddish orange. Any recommendations on paint missing to get that reddish orange coat?

Leave a Reply

