A month of paint

Painting is one of the activities I love the most. I feel happy when I know I have an afternoon with a film and a paintbrush… with company nearby if I need it! It is also a huge part of my healing and emotional wellbeing journey, as it quiets my mind and fills me with a sense of calm. I harp on and on about all the benefits and how much I enjoy it… but I haven’t actually done any at all for weeks.

Last week I was in Austria skiing which I guess is a fairly valid excuse. Paints are heavy, and I had very little time left in my day after skiing, swimming, supper, sauna, steam rooms and sleep (I know… what a hard life!). I don’t have any excuse for my days in England, apart from… I just couldn’t motivate myself to get the paints out after a day at work. Too much faff. Awful from a girl who wants to make a career out of this faff!!Image

Starting from April 1st, I am making it my mission to spend at least an hour a day painting or creating for the whole month. This may not sound too taxing, but other commitments such as a full time job, zumba, friends home for the Easter break and weekends with the boyfriend will make this pretty tricky. I will whip out my watercolour pencils at lunch or on the train, curl up in front of the TV after work with my box of acrylics and a chunky canvas, or use my long neglected sketchbook round at my boyfriend’s.

I don’t have any commissions in the pipeline (it’s the perfect time to swoop if you want a painting) so I will paint a range of recent photographs (such as beautiful shots of the Austrian Alps) kingfishers, owls, ducks and whatever takes my fancy. They will just have to decorate my room until they find a permanent home! If anyone has any other suggestions or photographs they have taken that would make a great piece of art, please please contact me!

I will document my progress weekly on my blog, sharing photos of my creations and weighing up the stress of finding time for obligatory art with the emotional benefits that painting brings.

Image

Stay tuned for my month of paint!

2 thoughts on “A month of paint

  1. I love the idea of committing to what you love. I have noticed that I make excuses NOT to do the things I enjoy the most which is really silly. I think it is a great idea to take the time and just decide you will do it.

    Also this will be great for us too, I am sure we will see great paintings in your blog next month!

  2. Pingback: How to paint a Tawny… Owl by yourself! | ART by IMI

Leave a Reply

